Home » Branches » DFER Colorado » DFER Colorado Staff & Board of Advisors

DFER Colorado Staff & Board of Advisors

DFER Colorado Staff:

Jennifer Walmer, DFER Colorado State Director

Jennifer Walmer is the state director of DFER Colorado (DFER-CO). Prior to joining DFER-CO, Walmer was the Chief of Staff for the Superintendent of the Denver Public Schools, Tom Boasberg, where she helped pass a $500 million bond and mill initiative in November 2012. Walmer also was the Superintendent’s primary strategic liaison with a divided Board of Education; managed government affairs for the district; and led strategic partnership efforts with community organizations.  

She has deep political ties in Colorado’s Democratic circles, having served as Chief of Staff for State House Speaker Terrance Carroll prior to joining Denver Public Schools. In this role, Walmer was instrumental in the passage of landmark reform legislation surrounding teacher effectiveness.

Walmer is a Colorado native and graduated from the University of Colorado Boulder. She is an avid skier and also enjoys reading, cooking, traveling and watching her two sons play sports.

Moira Cullen - Legislative Director
Alicia Economos - Communications
Rachel Gordon - Membership and Fundraising
Van Schoales - Policy and Communications

DFER Colorado Advisory Committee:

Marti Awad
Elaine Berman - Member of the Colorado State Board of Education
Patrick Byrne
Terrance Carroll - Former Speaker of the House for the Colorado General Assembly
Mark Ferrandino - Speaker of the House
Joe Garcia - Colorado Lt. Governor
Josh Hanfling
Hollie Velasquez Horvath
Mike Johnston - Colorado State Senator
Tom Kaesemeyer
Donna Lynne
Denise Maes
Lindsay Neil
Barbara O'Brien - Former Colorado Lt. Governor
Christine Scanlan - Former Colorado State Representative
Mary Seawell
Van Schoales
Mary Shay